Etna – Anioł (2011)

Etna - Aniol

Etna – Anioł Review

Downloaded from emusic.com $5.99 for entire album.
I will not be commenting on the lyrical content as I do not know enough Polish to do so.
1. Anioł – Standard pop beats marks the title and opening track. Etna’s voice is soft, gentle in this song.
2. Gorzka Kawa – A darker song in the intro, almost a pop industrial feel. But I hear Madonna, in more recent form, in this song – in the harmonies and vocal styling. Epic club, rise and fall in bridge.
3. Milczenie – Lower vocal range in the opening verse utilized. This song uses a live crowd sound very buried but evident in the mix – but it is not a live song, per se. Again, the Madonna delivery tonal quality to the entire voice.
4. Wyznanie – Piano – classical in intro. Soft, ballad. Music so soft and secondary in the opening verse that Etna’s voice is truly heard as almost a capella. But more instrumentation comes in as the chorus is reached. Sounds like a 1970’s pop ballad updated, slightly.
5. Ona – A more upbeat song that the previous track. You can’t help but move your feet and body to this beat.
6. Dotyk – Here is where I can hear some ethnic influence and not just a copycat of other pop performers from the past two decades. The guitar underlies a polka-esque beat.
7. Kameleon – Typical of what I generally here on Top 40 radio here in the US.
8. Tysiące Dni – Club bass dub beat opens this track.
9. Daj Mi Szansę – Destined to be a club hit
10. Oszukałeś Mnie – early 90’s club feel.
11. Zdrada – A house style tune that doesn’t do much for my ears, personally, but I wouldn’t skip the track if I were listening to my random or the whole album.
12. Nie Warto – Melodies in this song make it the prettiest to the ear of all the tracks. Even better than the ballad, Wyznanie.
13. Studenteczka – Funky, but in a good way. Has a child’s nursery rhyme feel, like pop music off a Japanese anime show.
14. Nocy Smak – This track has a slow build – to a danceable beat. Definitely a club song, through and through.
Overall, this has been a fun addition to my collection. Yeah, I’m a metal chick but I was raised on KJYO (Top 40) and KATT (hard rock) radio. I’ve been listening to this off and on since I bought it. Maybe one day I’ll know enough Polish language to know what the lyrics are.
Rating: 4 out of 5 PBR Pints
Listening notes: First listened and review via mp3 download from emusic.com onto Lenovo R61e Thinkpad and played through Altec Lansing speakers at high volume.

About Kirsten Tautfest

Writer. I've done a lot of living in almost 40 years. My first two self-published books in print/Kindle are what I have termed serial soccer fiction. Red Tales is based around a professional soccer team, set in 1998 their inaugural year, and traces the lives of the players, staff, and fans and how they all intertwine and collide for better or for worse.
This entry was posted in Dance, Music, Poland, Top 40 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

