Kreator – Phantom Antichrist (5 June 2012)

Kreator - Phantom Antichrist

Kreator Phantom Antichrist Review.

An album so nice, I bought it twice.

The following are my notes from a first listen:
1. “Mars Mantra” – A beautiful symphonic intro to this beast of an album. Sami Yli-Sirnio’s acoustic riffs bring us into the mood of the rest of the ablum.
2. “Phantom Antichrist” – Metal at its purest form is to be found in this track. Loving walking riffs roll through the song.
3. “Death to the World” – A drive fast in the middle of the night after a whiskey bender type of song. It has anthemistic qualities, and is certainly pit worthy. Lyrically, the song speaks about the rape of the earth and the environment by mankind – in other words, death of the earth in general and not to mankind. Mother Earth will correct herself but may have to make Homo sapiens extinct in order to do so.
4. “From Flood into Fire” – The intro to this track uses a double kick, measured and well calculated to be driven as a walking march of a tune. Walking together from one disaster to another with a survivalist mentality. Could this have been a very personal song to the lyricist? Perhaps, but it comes across as more of a gathering of a tribe than as a love song. This can certainly become a hooligan theme song, akin to Liverpool’s “You’ll Never Walk Alone.” To wit, I did blast this at the tailgate for my Chicago Fire tribe that made the road trip to the Kansas City match.

“We’re in this together for whatever fate may bring.”

5. “Civilisation Collapse” – Speed! Massive amounts of old school thrash speed marks portions of the song in a well-time juxtaposition of pacing changes. An explosion marks the end of the song.
6. “United in Hate” – After the explosive ending to the last track – provided you are listening in proper order, and mind you, you should at least at first, a lovely acoustic guitar soothes the blackened metal heart with an elegistic intro for about 45 seconds before launching back into an aural assault.

“We are legions; we are legions united in hate.”

The catchy chorus encourages fist pumping and mosh pit frenzy.
7. “The Few, the Proud, the Broken” – A different track in that the rhythms, speed, and style changes throughout the song. There is shifting, but it is not all bad. It does, however, sound like something that might come out of an open jam session, more so in the jazz realm, than in a Southern rock/blues/rock open jam that many of my readers may be more used to. There are even moments in here of drumming virtuosity, courtesy of Ventor, that Art Blakely would be proud of.
8. “Your Heaven, My Hell” – With lines like, “Let’s kill all gods” and “You are the virus of this scorched earth,” this is decidedly the most anti-Christian, anti- organized religion, of all the tracks on the album. However, despite the title of the album, I would not call it a Satanic song. It is more of an awakening revelation that one finds when they come out of a religious background into an agnostic or atheistic point of view. “My eyes are open wide.”
9. “Victory Will Come” – Militaristic chop of thrashing speed with heavy use of Ventor’s double kick in the end.
10. “Until our Paths Cross Again” – A lovely choice for the last track. It brings you down, but not too much. I can see this being played live as the last song the concert, or the one that is chosen for a final encore. Lyrically, however, it is a difficult one for a person to grasp on first listen. I praise Kreator for putting the lyrics in the booklet with the physical CD purchase.

I cannot stop listening to this album. 5 out of 5 PBR Pint Rating
Listening notes: Mp3 album purchased from Samsung Galaxy Captivate with sock noise cancelling headphones played through the Zimly app. Booklet reviewed later from physical CD purchase, also purchased from Amazon. Yeah, I really did buy this twice and it is well worth it.


About Kirsten Tautfest

Writer. I've done a lot of living in almost 40 years. My first two self-published books in print/Kindle are what I have termed serial soccer fiction. Red Tales is based around a professional soccer team, set in 1998 their inaugural year, and traces the lives of the players, staff, and fans and how they all intertwine and collide for better or for worse.
This entry was posted in Heavy Metal, Music, Thrash and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kreator – Phantom Antichrist (5 June 2012)

  1. Pingback: Fear Factory – The Industrialist (5 June 2012) | The resurrection of Nao Me Diga Ezine (Music)

  2. I think what you said made a lot of sense. But, what about this?

    what if you were to write a killer post title? I am not suggesting your content is
    not solid., but what if you added a title that makes people want more?
    I mean Kreator – Phantom Antichrist (5 June 2012) | The resurrection of Nao Me Diga Ezine (Music) is a little vanilla.
    You might glance at Yahoo’s home page and see how they create article titles to get viewers to click.
    You might add a video or a pic or two to get people excited about everything’ve written. Just my
    opinion, it would bring your posts a little livelier.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s