Bon Jovi, Vampire, and “You Give Love a Bad Name”

Bon Jovi – You Give Love A Bad Name – YouTube.

So I’m watching Vampires: Los Muertos compliments of my Netflix DVD subscription and this song comes to mind. Why? Because Bon Jovi is the star, as a vampire hunter.

Shot through the heart and you’re to blame. You give love a bad name.

Seeing Bon Jovi in a vampire flick kind of gives a whole new perspective on this song, you think?

Don’t get me wrong, I do like Bon Jovi, but I’m not a huge fan. Ask my 14-year-old self before I really heard Metallica’s Master of Puppets and I might have answered differently. I did get to see Bon Jovi live in the spring of 2003. He put on a good show, but I reacted differently over the course of two nights. The first night I could not handle it – I was too sober to stave off the bad high school flashbacks. The next night – my boyfriend at the time insisted that we see him twice because we could – I found some joy in Maker’s Mark and was sufficiently buzzed enough to enjoy the whole arena show.

As for the movie? It’s pretty campy and sticks to the standard, time-tested vampire theories. I’m still watching it, so I’ll stop writing and get back to the plot and eye candy.

About Kirsten Tautfest

Writer. I've done a lot of living in almost 40 years. My first two self-published books in print/Kindle are what I have termed serial soccer fiction. Red Tales is based around a professional soccer team, set in 1998 their inaugural year, and traces the lives of the players, staff, and fans and how they all intertwine and collide for better or for worse.
This entry was posted in Music, Thoughts, Top 40 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

