Flashback review: Acid Bath: When the Kite String Pops (August 9, 1994 Rotten Records)

Acid Bath - When the Kite String Pops

Flashback review: Acid Bath When the Kite String Pops

(1994 Rotten Records)

Every time I flip through the black tee-shirt section of my closet, looking for something to wear to work that’s non-offensive, I come across my Acid Bath shirt. John Wayne Gacy’s art adorns the back with “eat my dead cock” printed underneath it. Nope can’t wear that one.
So I decided to wear it today, dig out the old CD and give it a listen. I forgot how heavy these guys were.

They have a sound that would be just as fresh today, especially in the terms of the popular new metal out there. In an era still rife with grunge, Acid Bath may have been ahead of their time. From the first track, “The Blue” to the last “Cassie Eats Cockroaches” there is not a bad one on the album. “The Mortician’s Flame” has always been one of my favorites, even making it into a mix CD that I created to dance to, erotically. Ah, the memories.

Lyrics, while strange in spots are poetically beautiful. One of the highlights in this regard is in “Scream of the Butterfly,” a song that could be considered the ballad of the album. On the other hand, many of the lyrics are sufficiently crude, like the one from “The Blue,” where Dax croons, “Eat my dead cock.”

So with all the undulating rhythms and the proper amount of feedback, I think I’ll put this one back on heavy rotation for a while. If you haven’t heard Acid Bath, I encourage you to check them out. They have mp3’s of the album on Amazon for $9.99.

Side note: I did get to see Acid Bath live in 1994 when they made a stop in Wichita, Kansas at the Rock Island. Dax signed my CD, but I failed to get any of the other members. From what I can remember, the live show was great as well. Yeah, my tee shirt is that old as well.
5 out of 5 PBR Pint Rating

Listening notes: Cranked to full volume in my 2006 Chevrolet HHR with the standard CD-Stereo set up. Oh my poor speakers.

About Kirsten Tautfest

Writer. I've done a lot of living in almost 40 years. My first two self-published books in print/Kindle are what I have termed serial soccer fiction. Red Tales is based around a professional soccer team, set in 1998 their inaugural year, and traces the lives of the players, staff, and fans and how they all intertwine and collide for better or for worse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

