Broken Flesh (live)

9 Oct 2015 Thunder Alley, Oklahoma City

I must say the name of this local band on the bill drove me nuts in the hours before heading to the venue. But maybe that’s because I’ve been wearing a Broken Hope longsleeve all day. So I researched them a bit. They’ve been on the local scene here since 2004. Their friendship support network is evidenced by the crowd on their feet on the fllor in front of the stage.

Crowd loves Broken Flesh.

Crowd loves Broken Flesh.

I don’t care for the vocalist’s style. Extreme Cookie Monster. I skimmed past a link to a review by a Christian Metal site. So lyrically that has be concerned – as if i could make put any words.

Taking the vocals as an instrument only (oh the “foreign language” of death metal lyrics), by the fourth song in the delivery blends in wells with the rest of the quartet. But yet nothing is blowing me away at this point.

Mix – the mix is good from my vantage point (about 80-90 degrees from the mix board (all hail the man bun) bar side).

I’m most impressed by the skill of the double kicking drummer. Reminds me of Rich Hoak (Brutal Truth et al). The way it is mixed he propels the song forward in a beautiful pussy vibrating envelope of sound.

The vocalist is dressed more like a nyhc performer but his stage presence is commanding  – a la Hatebreed.

Oh yeah, there’s some Cannibal Corpse influence as we wind our way into the last song. In this song, I’m finding more melody coming from thr drums than the guitarist or even bassist.

– moving on –

About Kirsten Tautfest

Writer. I've done a lot of living in almost 40 years. My first two self-published books in print/Kindle are what I have termed serial soccer fiction. Red Tales is based around a professional soccer team, set in 1998 their inaugural year, and traces the lives of the players, staff, and fans and how they all intertwine and collide for better or for worse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

